Sunday Salon

70757~Cafe-Mocha-PostersAt last I’ve had to admit defeat and take the step of moving my blog from its previous format over to wordpress.  Every time I managed to get it working under the newest set of protocols the powers that be changed the goalposts yet again and since the latest upheaval I simply can’t get it to publish at all.  So, henceforth Table Talk will be found at https://ann163125b.wordpress.com/ .  Unfortunately, there isn’t a facility that allows me to move my archive over.  If I ever have a spare year or two I might do it by hand, but don’t hold your breath – these days a spare minute or two would be nice.

Where the weekend’s reading is concerned I’ve had one of those disappointments that come when, having really enjoyed a book by a ‘new’ writer, you pick up another only to find that it doesn’t live up to your expectations.  Like so many readers I really enjoyed Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s The Shadow of the Wind.  There’s something fascinating to an avid book person like me about a novel that deals with books themselves.  So, I’ve been waiting for The Angel’s Game to turn up on my library ticket ever since it was published earlier this year and rushed home with it on Friday contemplating a weekend curled up with several pots of tea lost in the world of the Cemetery of Forgotten Books.  But, it was not to be.  About a third of the way through I suddenly realised that I couldn’t care less about the main character or the world that he inhabited.  It’s very rare that I actually put a book down and decide I have better things to do with my reading time, but this was one of those occasions.  Has anyone else read this book?  And if so, what did you think?  Is this just me, or is it a common reaction?

I’m consoling myself with the new Reginald Hill Dalziel and Pascoe novel, Midnight Fugue, which definitely is coming up to expectations.  Thank goodness, two misfires in a single weekend would be more that I could bear.

Published in: on July 19, 2009 at 4:58 pm  Comments (18)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ann163125b.wordpress.com/2009/07/19/sunday-salon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Reginald Hill was one of my recent misfires. I chose for my first RH, a novel not featuring Dalziel and Pascoe. That was probably the mistake. He is so highly regarded among bloggers whose taste I share that he’ll get another sampling.

  2. Fay, you might also have been disappointed if you’d chosen one of the early D and P novels -Hill is definitely a writer who has improved dramatically over the years. I was lucky enough to come in in the middle and then worked backwards knowing that he was worth pursuing. I would recommend ‘Pictures of Perfection’ as a good one to begin with. It’s Hill pastiche of Jane Austin and absolutely superb.

  3. I just finished “The Angel’s Game” this week, and had a similar experience. I loved “Shadow of the Wind,” and couldn’t wait to read the new novel, but almost shelved it about a third of the way through. It just seemed to be going nowhere. However, I’m glad I stuck with it because the last half was a much better read than the first half – seems like it just took him a long time to get the story going. I’d still say it doesn’t come close to SOTW, and it does contain some of the most irritating characters I’ve ever met. But I think it’s worth reading.

  4. WordPress is probably the best blogging platform. I haven’t read Shadow of the Wind.

  5. JLS, thank you, that’s worth knowing. I haven’t returned it to the library yet, so maybe I’ll give it another try.

    uenohama, do read ‘The Shadow of the Wind’. All of my friends loved it.

  6. I haven’t caught up with you for a while now Ann – glad to see your post today. I’m looking forward to getting my hands on MIDNIGHT FUGUE.

  7. Kerrie, I haven’t been around for you to catch up with, I’m afraid. I’m hoping things are going to be different in the future.

  8. Glad you’re back on-line. I haven’t read The Angel’s Game, but was wondering whether to or not. I enjoyed The Shadow of the Wind, although I think it began better than it ended.

  9. Another unsatisfied reader on The Angel’s Game. I didn’t like the last half either.

    Eager to resume my connection to Dalziel & Pascoe–can’t wait for Midnight Fugue!

  10. Hi BP and Jenclair, glad you’ve found your way over. I’ve just finished ‘Midnight Fugue’ – definitely a good read if not exactly first rate.

  11. Hi Ann – I just saw a comment you left over at Jenclair’s and had to come over and say welcome back to blogging. I’ve missed your posts! 🙂

    Regarding the book, I’m sorry you didn’t like The Angel’s Game… I haven’t been hearing too many good reviews of it which is a shame. I’ll try to get to it one of these days anyway just to see what I think but no rush.

  12. Iliana, it’s good to be back. Life got on top of me for a bit, not to mention swine flu, which is fairly rampant in my area, but I’ve felt for a couple of weeks now that I had to get back to writing. I’ll be over to see you very soon.

  13. I’m so glad you are back, Ann!! I bought The Angel’s Game the first day it was released here in the US. I haven’t read it yet, but it is one I’ve been waiting for. I’m sorry you didn’t like it. I’m still willing to give it a try, and will let you know what I think of it. On an unrelated topic, have you read anything by Elizabeth Ironside?

  14. No, Sharon, is she someone I should know about? What genre does she write in? I really need to catch up with how things are with you. I’ve got a bust weekend coming up, but I’ll e-mail you at the beginning of next week.

  15. Elizabeth Ironside is actually Lady Catherine Manning, wife of the former British ambassador to the US. She writes mysteries along the lines of PD James and Minette Walters. Gorgeous prose and very good story lines! I recently read A Death in the Garden and loved it.

  16. Glad to find you blogging again Ann, I enjoyed Midnight Fugue as well and find Reginald Hill a reliably good spinner of crime fiction yarn.

  17. Ann, so glad to see you back online! I think you will find WordPress quite satisfactory.

    I haven’t read any of the Dalziel-Pascoe series, but I have a feeling I’d like them.

  18. I’m late seeing you back online (had a short little blogging break of my own) but I’m very happy to be reading you again!


Leave a Reply

