Sunday Salon

Life is still very interesting in the Table Talk household.  While I seem to have an Internet connection most of the time, I am again without an incoming phone line, and although I can make outgoing calls I can’t always guarantee that I’m going to be connected to the number I’ve rung.  This has meant that I’ve had some very surprising conversations over the past couple of weeks with people I might never otherwise have had the chance to become acquainted with but I would have exchanged that pleasure for the certainty of knowing that I can reach those that I want to reach.

There is no point in trying to do anything about this until the annual UK Christmas and New Year shutdown is over in around ten days time, the more so because we have heavy snow forecast for the forthcoming week and I wouldn’t want to be responsible for anyone coming out on the roads simply to deal with my phone problems.

I don’t do snow.  I get neurotic about not being able to get out and about as I want to.  You’d think the idea of a whole day when whatever I have in the diary I can legitimately ignore and just curl up with a good book instead would fill me with joy, especially as I no longer have anyone else for whom I’m responsible and about whom I have to worry, but I’m afraid it doesn’t work that way.  When I was teaching the children would inevitably get ecstatic the moment the first flake was spotted.  Up would go the cry, “Miss, it’s snowing.”  And grouchy old misery that I am, I would snarl through gritted teeth, “I know it’s snowing.  Get on with your work.”  Once the roads are clear it isn’t so bad, but when people can’t get around safely I find it very disturbing and if the forecasters are right then we’re in for some very nasty roads indeed this week.

Not that I’m lacking reading material.  I’ve just finished the fourth of Katharine Kerr’s Deverry series, which means that I still have eleven to go.  The idea was to read all of these through the Christmas and New Year period, but they’ve proved to be more substantial than I remembered and with everything I have to read for other purposes I suspect it’s going to be another month or so before I finally manage to get to the new one.  I’m very much enjoying the experience of reading them as a whole, though.  There are all sorts of links of which I hadn’t been fully conscious when reading them piecemeal that are now making their presence felt and the encounter is that much the richer for it.  One thing that is particularly apparent when reading the series this way is the very very detailed pre-planning that went into the work.  Do you know, there is one sentence in book one that encapsulates the entire plot of book thirteen.  Not surprisingly, I didn’t realise this the first time through, but meeting it now I can only marvel at the complexity of the mind behind this epic.  Maybe I’m going so slowly because subconsciously I don’t want the series to end.  If you enjoy fantasy and haven’t read Kerr’s work then you have a real pleasure before you.

Published in: on December 27, 2009 at 6:10 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ann163125b.wordpress.com/2009/12/27/sunday-salon-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve been dealing with having no phone and internet for several weeks now due to our move. I just gave up and look forward to having things sorted out in the new year but it does feel slightly odd to be without these modern luxuries doesn’t it? Hope it gets sorted out soon for you Ann and enjoy that series. Sounds great!

  2. Speaking as someone who’s just went through the ordeal of rain, ice and snow, I sincerely hope it misses you and lands somewhere further north or south or something! It is a mess and two days after it stopped my street has yet to be dug out. Blah. Glad to hear you have something really good to read and get lost in. Hope things get back to normal soon!

  3. I’m so sorry about the phone problems! How incredibly frustrating. I hope the repair doesn’t get delayed too much, especially because of weather.

  4. “One of the reasons that I felt so strongly about this book was that it was based on a true incident that happened close to where I live”-I agree with this feeling also-recently I read a pretty good book-The Last Time I Saw Mother” by Irene Choi-it was set in the part of the Philippines my family is from and the geographicl details were right-it made it more interesting


Leave a Reply

